Review ~ Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

Jane's Melody (Jane's Melody, #1)Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was lucky enough to meet Ryan at a book signing I attended to see Colleen Hoover. Ryan was there for his newest book, Jane’s Harmony, the 2nd book in this series. I found Ryan to be very gracious, down to earth, and sweet, which made me want to read his books. Prior to this, unfortunately, I had no idea who he was or what he wrote. So, I’m thankful he was there that night because …

Well, because I found an amazing book with amazing characters. I love books that have romance in them, but I also love books that have life lessons. When you walk away from the book and feel a bit smarter for reading it. This story did not have any profound advice, but it did deal with a few tough issues, one being death of a child. Reading this could not have come at a more significant time, because an old friend of mine from grade school just lost her 11 year old daughter. Ugh … so with the issues, the tears came even stronger.

And I have to admit that I have not read many stories with the older woman/younger man trope, but this one was done so well. I actually did not feel weird about the age difference (because let’s face it … older man/younger woman is okay, but the other way around seems strange). Not anymore. 🙂

Ryan tackled these obstacles and situations with such grace and understanding, and he relayed the emotions perfectly. I was completely impressed.

Caleb … I’d love to talk about him for a moment. I love strong men, confident men, and men that know what they want, but I also love when they can be real and genuine. Caleb is probably one of the most raw characters ever. He’s nothing if not true to himself. He lives, loves, and sees nothing wrong with his choices. He does not make excuses for himself nor does he put himself first, ever. He’s absolutely perfect with his small imperfections.

Jane had all the right in the world to be insecure, gun-shy, and scared. She had so many emotions running through her because so many emotional things went on in her life. I think she dealt with everything really well, and quite normally for someone who had to endure the things she did. Did I wish she would have made things less difficult for herself? Yes, but it would not have been real. She was definitely real.

Jane’s best friend Grace was the perfect side kick for her. She gave the best advice and had the greatest definition of F.I.N.E.

F ucked up

I nsecure

N eurotic

E motional

Two other supporting characters added fun and quite a few laughs to the heavy feels … Mrs. Hawthorne and Bill Clinton.

The story, written in three parts, had me by the ears from word one. The narrator was pretty good, although Caleb sounded quite feminine it was okay. I didn’t mind much.

I recommend this book to anyone that loves romance, life lessons, and a great story!

description

Summary:

–New York TimesUSA Today, and Wall Street JournalBestseller–

What boundaries would you cross for true love? 

That’s the question a grieving mother must answer when she takes in a young street musician she believes can shed light on her daughter’s death—only to find herself falling for him. A sexy but touching love story that will leave you both tantalized and in tears, Jane’s Melody follows a forty-year-old woman on a romantic journey of rediscovery after years of struggling alone.

Sometimes our greatest gifts come from our greatest pain. And now Jane must decide if it’s too late for her to start over, or if true love really knows no limits.

View all my reviews