Review ~ Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Summary:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Just … just …This was not just another book. The subject of the book hit so close to home it was unreal. This author portrayed the whole fan fiction bit so well. Cather was me, well, except I’m forty and have a family and not eighteen going away to college.

But this story is not just about fan fiction. It has some tough issues and a great, slow-building romance, too. The best thing a book can do is pull the reader into the story, fully and completely. Like wrap you up in it and make you love it, care about, and feel like you can’t live without it. This story did that for me. I loved Cather and Wren and Reagan and Levi. Such a great cast of characters and with all of their imperfections and quirks, I still loved them. I also understood and related with each of them and that connected me even more to them.

The words were beautiful and the themes made an impact. However, I truly did not find myself enjoying the fan fiction portions. And really, it’s a good thing, because I loved the story so much I didn’t want the interruptions with a side story that meant nothing to me. I understood the reason for it and it was a cute idea, but it just didn’t work for me. It was a little irritating at time because I listened to this book and couldn’t skim these portions, so I had to listen to the Simon Snow snippets. That would be my only complaint and it’s not even that bad.

I recommend this to everyone!

To read more of my reviews, please go to my blog Italian Brat’s Obsessions

View all my reviews