Review ~ The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

The Rose GardenThe Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley
Summary:

“Whatever time we have,” he said, “it will be time enough.”

Eva Ward returns to the only place she truly belongs, the old house on the Cornish coast, seeking happiness in memories of childhood summers. There she finds mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time.

But Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. As she begins to question her place in the present, she comes to realize that she too must decide where she really belongs.

From Susanna Kearsley, author of the New York Times bestseller The Winter Sea and a voice acclaimed by fans of Gabaldon, du Maurier, and Niffenegger alike, The Rose Garden is a haunting exploration of love, family, the true meaning of home, and the ties that bind us together.
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Kearsley has become one of the authors on my of list of “Authors I’ll read anything and everything from.” And I will slowly work my way through her books, but this one is the third I have read and absolutely loved. I’m amazed at how she can manage to create the same effect but take completely different roads to get there and each road is so different. The three books I’ve read are all “time travels” in one way or another to the past with heavy hints of history in them and romances. But the means to get there are just so clearly new and unique that in each one, I’m always sitting at the edge of my seat wanting the next word.

The switch in the story from present to past, the back and forth, is never confusing. It is always done so neat and tidy that after reading one of these books, you already know the pattern and just learn to expect it.

The stories are always good with great content and the romances are truly wonderful. The heroes are men to definitely fall in love with, as they are very chivalrous to fit their time. However, each of the three books I’ve read so far seem to leave me wanting more at the end. She ends them just fine, in a good closure point, but I just want that little bit more. Maybe that’s me just being greedy. 🙂

Anyway, I would recommend this book to anyone that likes historicals, time travel, stories based in England, and great romances.

View all my reviews