Meet My Guest ~ Author ~ Sara Bruni

I’d like to introduce my guest, Sara Bruni.

If you were a cookie, which would you be?

I love the American chocolate cookies. Before moving to the US, I didn’t really eat any cookies. So that would be my choice if I could eat one. Being one is a different story, although I guess most people do like these cookies. So people would love to eat me. It’s also referring to my name: Bruni comes from the Italian word for Brown.

What is Eskimo ice?

I don’t know, honestly. Is it a new flavour of ice cream? Is it colder-than-cold ice? I am longing to taste some real Italian ice, that’s why I picked this question. I always pick the stracciatella-flavour. That’s vanilla ice with small chunks of chocolate in it (there’s chocolate again ☺)
How many pairs of shoes do you own?

Although Italians are being said to be fashionable, I only own 6 pairs. And that includes my sport shoes, all right?
What was the best thing before sliced bread?

I think the best thing before sliced bread is still the best thing after sliced bread: Pizza. Some say pizza originally comes from Napels, a vibrant city in the south of Italy. Of course, other cities claim having the first and original pizza in town. Still, it is quite old and I love it. The real Italian pizza is different from the one you get in the US. You might be surprised, but my favourite pizza is the real Italian Margherita pizza. Think of a warm day in Italy, a swimming pool and a slice of freshly made pizza…. MMMM!
If given complete freedom to start afresh, what profession would you choose and why?

I guess being a school teacher, but I am not sure. I do like very much what I am doing. Maybe I’d like to be alive in Dante’s time. Not as Dante per se, but just someone closeby. I wonder if I’d experience Florence and its strong global position differently when alive at that time, than I do know after studying its history. Yeah, I prefer that one over the teacher job.
Are you a morning person or a night person?

A morning person for sure. I am usually awake at 6, exercising, reading and writing, and enjoying my freshly brewed coffee. Before the rest of the family even starts to awake, I already have done some work, feeling energised to start the day.

Which is your most favorite place in this earth?

That would be Siena, where I was born. I love Tuscany and Florence, but for me, the childhood memories of Siena make me smile whenever I think of them. The city is great for relaxing or for more active activities, and of course we celebrate the yearly Palio. In book 2 of The Inferno Experience we’ll visit Siena shortly. I could write a whole book about Siena, but somehow the idea of doing so didn’t catch fire. Maybe soon!

Author Links:

Website * Twitter * Facebook

Please, see her books below. 

 photo florence3_01_zpsf0bc5142.jpg

Book 1: Florence

In The Inferno Experience: Florence you literally go to the devil when following Dante’s footsteps in Florence. You will be guided along 16 places that remind us of Dante’s Inferno. We will visit the Duomo, the Palazzo Vecchio, Hells’ Road and the Devil’s corner.

Do not fear, as we will visit 10 divine places as well. The Battistero, Palazzo Strozzi, Capella Brancacci and we will end our tour in a church, close to heaven…

Sara Bruni grew up in Siena, Italy, and returns there every year. She has been inspired by the world of Dante from childhood, no wonder she decided to study medieval history.

Sara Bruni’s books offer readers the opportunity to go on a literary-based adventures through Florence, Sienna, and Tuscany. Building on her knowledge of medieval history and Italian culture, Ms. Bruni offers an unparalleled insight into the secrets and mysteries behind the times and places that inspired Dante

 photo Tuscany_01_zpscf80f456.jpg

Book 2: Tuscany

In this second book of three of The Inferno Experience, we follow Dante’s trail in Tuscany. We start in Siena and head towards Tuscany’s deep south, which back in the days of Dante was mostly one big swamp and where nature is still wild – with real cowboys who seem to come straight from the Wild West.

We will travel along medieval towns characterized by their striking towers, which Dante compares to giants in the Divina Commedia. We will take a leisurely stroll through San Gimignano, where we will be sampling the delectable local wine, we’ll visit Monteriggioni and roll out the barrels in Montepulciano – and raise our glass to Dante once again with another tasty local wine.

We’ll drink Jupiter’s blood in the lovely Chianti villages and we’ll look for the origins of the black cock. We’ll ride a bike over the city walls at Lucca, follow Dante via the river Arno to Pisa, to the Field of Miracles, where the devil singlehandedly tried to prevent the building of the Duomo.

In short, we’ll make a devilishly wonderful trip through the most enchanting area in the world, la bella Toscana. Andiamo!

Sara Bruni grew up in Siena, Italy, and returns there every year. She has been inspired by the world of Dante from childhood, no wonder she decided to study medieval history.

Sara Bruni’s books offer readers the opportunity to go on a literary-based adventures through Florence, Sienna, and Tuscany. Building on her knowledge of medieval history and Italian culture, Ms. Bruni offers an unparalleled insight into the secrets and mysteries behind the times and places that inspired Dante

 photo InfernoExperience3-03_zps19a6106f.jpg