Meet My Guest ~ Author ~ Lisa Bilbrey

It is my great pleasure to interview Lisa Bilbrey. I am privileged to be able to say she is a wonderful friend and a pleasure to work with. 

Author Bio:

Lisa Bilbrey is a mom of three and has been married to her high school sweetheart since 1996.
Finding a love in the written word, she started writing as a way to express herself. From the first word she wrote, she’d found her heart and soul. Always willing to learn, she’s spends much of her time trying to improve as a storyteller.

In late 2011, Lisa opened Renaissance Romance Publishing with Michele Richard and Laura Braley.

205634_19123320504_687810504_65495_5405_n photo 205634_19123320504_687810504_65495_5405_n.jpg

Time to get into Lisa’s head a bit. So excited! On with the Interview:

How many pairs of shoes do you own?

 Oddly enough, I am not one of those women who have like fifty pairs of shoes. I’ve got a few pairs of flip flops (I’d die without them), a pair of fur-lined boots, and my tennis shoes. That’s it. Very simple.

 What’s your bad quality?

 Bad quality, huh? Where to start! I think my worst quality is that I expect too much from people. I give a lot of myself in my work, and I expect the same to be done by others. Sometimes I find those who do, and others, I don’t. I find myself expecting more than I should, I guess.

 Describe yourself; what do you think about yourself and do you think people perceive you in the same way?

 This is a hard question to answer. While some people would be surprised to hear this, I’m actually a very shy and quiet person. Especially in person. I find myself feeling awkward and weird, so I tend to shut down and not really speak. I don’t think a lot of people see the real me, something I’m really working being better about showing.

What kind of music do you like?

 I like all kinds of music, but my favorite is anything that is heavy with emotions. I use music to help fuel my writing and often find that I need really heavy, gut-wrenching  music to fuel the emotions that I am pouring in my books. I have several playlists that I used. They contain music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Nickleback, Fran Healy, Amos Lee, Ben Taylor, A Fine Frenzy, and Coldplay.

 What do you do when you feel very sad or depressed?

 When I’m really struggling, I tend to shut down into myself and push everyone away. I don’t want to be a burden on them, and feel like it’s better to just keep it to myself. Usually doesn’t work that way, though.

 What makes you angry? Are you short-tempered? How do you overcome your anger?

 Lately, it’s been judgmental people. I watch people a lot, whether it’s in person or over a social media. Some of the things I see people ranting about makes me angry. It’s almost like, just because someone doesn’t conform to their way of thinking, that makes it okay to rip them apart.

 I am short-tempered, and it’s been a struggle my whole life. I try to defuse the situation before it starts, but that often does not work.

 Which is your most cherished childhood memory?

 When I was a little girl, my parents would load my two brothers, my sister, and I up in the car and we’d spend the morning driving from our home in Northern Texas to the mountains of Colorado — on our way to Colorado Springs. Along the way, we’d stop at this little rest area that is located just past the state line. The rest area was built up into the mountain and after we’d eat our breakfast, my brothers, sister, and I would play in the trees. It’s one of my favorite memories of the four of us together.

 If given a chance to skip work for a day, how would you spend the entire day?

 That’s easy! I’d write, lol. I’m one of those lucky few whose job is doing what they love. If I couldn’t write, then I’d spend the entire day in bed reading.

 Which is your favorite time of the day?

 Um, late, late at night, or early morning — depending on your viewpoint. It’s that time around 1am when my kids are asleep and my husband is, too, and I can just sit here and lose myself in my writing. I usually only have one lamp on, so the room isn’t very bright. I turn the TV off and set my iPod to my favorite playlists. Definitely my favorite time.

 Are you a morning person or a night person?

 Much to the hatred of my family, I am a morning person. It’s not that I love the morning — I don’t — I just don’t see the point of putting off getting up when I’m already awake. My poor daughter is the complete opposite and we often clash as I’m trying to get her up and ready for school.

 What is the funniest prank played on you or played by you?

 I wish I could say that I was clever enough to come up with this one, but I am not. That honor goes to my brothers.

 When my sister and I were around fifteen or so, we were spending Christmas with our dad. It was one of those rare occasions when all four of us were together and you can imagine how loud that was. Well, my sister and I were spouting off about Santa not being real. My dad warned us that if we didn’t stop, Santa would come and take away our gifts. Of course, we didn’t believe him. So we went to bed and when we got up the next morning, we started passing out presents. Only — there weren’t any for my sister and I. There was, however, a note from Santa explaining that because we didn’t believe in him, he’d taken our gifts away.

 My dad was so mad. Not because my brothers had taken and hidden our gifts, but because he didn’t think of the prank himself! Needless to say, I still believe in Santa!

 Which is your most favorite place in this earth?

 My favorite place on earth is right here, with my family. It’s when we’re all laughing and joking. When we’re not worried about deadlines and homework. It’s when we’re crowded around the table, playing a game of Monopoly and laughing because my husband has landed on Boardwalk for the fourth time. That’s my favorite place ever.

Want to find Lisa and her books? Here are the links:

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Renaissance Romance Publishing

Now on with the info of her upcoming book! 

Book summary/blurb:

The Journey of Champions

Travis McCoy thought the journey home would be the hardest choice he ever had to make. It isn’t until he finds himself walking out the door and leaving his family behind that he realizes his journey is only just beginning. Now, with only a handful of weeks until Christmas, Travis tries to find his way back home. This time, he plans on staying forever.

Excerpt:

 Travis McCoy stood in front of the large window that overlooked the front yard. With one hand pressed against the cool glass and the other nestled in his curly, chocolate-brown hair, he sighed. Today, he would be leaving Clarendon, Texas, and heading back to Miami, Florida, and he wasn’t sure he’d be strong enough to go. When he had made the decision to return to his hometown after receiving an invitation to celebrate homecoming, he hadn’t realized that in the process, he’d find himself again. The journey home hadn’t been an easy one, but it had been the best decision he had ever made. Coming home had given him the family he had been missing, a second chance to heal his broken heart, and the opportunity to reconnect with the person who had taught him what it meant to be a man: his father.

A smile slipped over Travis’s lips. When his father picked him up from the airport, he had anticipated spending the majority of his time in Clarendon dodging questions about where his life was headed or if he was ever going to grow up. Instead, Travis had lowered the walls he’d built around himself ever since the death of his mother, Loralie, and had allowed himself to get to know the real Russ McCoy. Where he had always seen a cold-hearted man who had put himself before his family, in reality Russ was a broken soul who’d struggled with losing the love of his life.

“He’s gonna be late if you don’t hurry,” came the softest, sweetest voice Travis had ever heard.

Laughing to himself, he looked over his shoulder, finding Penelope Stone standing in the doorway to their bedroom. She had her arms folded in front of her and a sparkle in her dark, sensual, mocha-brown eyes. Her long, silky, blond hair framed her face, and the pure, natural beauty that emanated from her took Travis’s breath away. She was exquisite.

Lisa, it’s been a pleasure and thank you so much for stopping by!