Meet My Guest ~ Author ~ Elizabeth M. Lawrence

I’d like to introduce fellow author of mine from Renaissance Romance Publishing and our trusty editor, Elizabeth M. Lawrence. 

 photo TSDiyHyyaaLQRLFZWTF4bWS1JXIhS2yCmaFGTowfUUM_zps7dd9dc85.jpeg

Author Bio:

Elizabeth Lawrence is the author of both contemporary and period romances. Each book incorporates its own unique blend of humor and reverence, the paranormal and the mundane, innocence and insanity. In addition to her novels, Elizabeth serves as Editor-in-Chief for Renaissance Romance Publishing. A lifelong writer and former paralegal, Elizabeth divides her free time between her husband and two sons, her three cats, her collection of cozy murder mysteries, and her mildly severe caffeine addiction. A native of Lawrence, Kansas, Elizabeth now works from her home in Cleveland, Ohio.

Now on with the interview …

What is your favorite color of socks to wear?

Generally, I prefer to wear very bright, insanely-patterned socks. Especially at the airport.

If you were given a chance, would you enter Big Brother?

Never. I cannot stand reality television shows.

What’s your bad quality?

It’s hard to settle on just one thing. I think my worst quality may be my stubbornness. It gets me into all sorts of trouble.

Describe yourself; what do you think about yourself and do you think people perceive you in the same way?

I’ve been told I’m difficult to get to know. I don’t get up in the morning and go through my day trying to confuse people, but it seems to happen nonetheless. Friends have told me that they found me intimidating at first, which always surprises me. I try to be a good person, but I don’t think there are many people who really know me well.

What makes you angry? Are you short-tempered? How do you overcome your anger?

If you’ve made me angry, you’ve put some effort into it. I tend to get quiet when I’m genuinely furious. I will remove myself from the situation and keep myself distracted until I’ve had a chance to cool down, because I tend to be vicious if I speak in anger.

If you could have a luncheon with any three people (real or fictitious/from any time period/dead or alive), which three people would you choose and why?

I’d love to meet David Tennant, just because he is so astoundingly talented and also such a nice person. Queen Elizabeth I would be fascinating, albeit mildly intimidating. And Jane Austen would just be fun for her social commentary.

Which is your most cherished childhood memory?

I’d have to say Christmas in Kansas with my extended family. Being an only child, it was wonderful to have my cousins to play with, and my Granny made the most amazing fudge. Those were probably my happiest times growing up, even if Granny did knock us out with vodka to get us to go to sleep on Christmas Eve.

What kind of kid were you, naughty or nice?

I was well-behaved for the most part. I was something of an outcast at school, but I was content to spend hours and hours in my room reading and writing and drawing. Most of the trouble I got into stemmed from my stubborn refusal to do things I disagreed with, which often included school assignments that I considered silly.

If given complete freedom to start afresh, what profession would you choose and why?

I would probably do what I am doing now. I prefer reading and writing to just about everything else. If I had to choose another path, I probably would have continued my education and gotten a PhD in Renaissance British Literature, which was something I considered for several years. Teaching on the university level might be fun, but it was always the immersion in scholarly research that appealed to me.

Are you a morning person or a night person?

Definitely a night person. I do like quiet mornings, but those happen so rarely. I’m more productive in the evenings, so I’m always messing up my schedule by not sleeping when I should.

Elizabeth has a book coming out early this summer.

Wishing Cotton by Elizabeth M. Lawrence


Throw a penny in a well for luck, wish on a star . . . There is no shortage of methods for wishing for one’s heart’s desire. No matter which ritual people follow, it never seems to work. Is there a way to make wishes come true? For best friends Olive Alexander and Blair Adams, a beach holiday provides the perfect opportunity to see if they can find the secret. Could fellow vacationer Peter Keyes hold the key to solving this puzzle?

Stay tuned for more information on release date, cover reveal, and blog tours. In the meantime, you can keep up with Elizabeth on her blog, Facebook page, and her Twitter account. 

Blog * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads * Amazon