Meet My Guest ~ Author ~ Rick Amburgey

Please say hello to my guest, author, Rick Amburgey.

Author Bio:

Rick Amburgey was raised on the music of some of country music’s greatest storytellers – Conway Twitty, George Jones, Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and Kris Kristofferson. The influence of these men was evident as he grew and became a writer. All of his stories were heartfelt, emotional and honest – sometimes uncompromisingly honest. Amburgey won four awards from the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association as a college journalist. After graduating college, he has served as an editor of the Springboro Star Press, as well of assistant editor of Strum Magazine. Rick Amburgey also has written two collections of poetry – Matters of the Heart and Heartstrings. He has also published three novels, which are titled United We Stand, Stronger Than That and Broken Nation, Broken Hearts. These novels show real people with real problems and takes the reader on a journey with the characters that include self-discovery and the search for true happiness. Rick Amburgey is currently working on some exciting new projects. The new projects include a paranormal romance and even a holiday novel. The new projects feature similar themes and well-developed characters, but they are darker, grittier and even more true-to-life. Rick Amburgey currently teaches reading on the middle school level.

Interview:

Tell us a little bit about your book?

“My book is called “Broken Nation, Broken Hearts.” It is historical fiction and it is set before and during the Civil War. Jackson is a man who has his own opinions. He loves his father and longs for his acceptance, but can’t stand him at the same time.  Jackson learns to hate slavery, despite and partially because of his father’s decision to own slaves. He later moves North with his girlfriend and starts a life and later fights in the Civil War, realizing he is fighting on the opposite side as his brothers. This story is about being true to yourself, and the long search for forgiveness and redemption.”

What kind of music do you like?

“I am quite possibly the biggest country music fan that ever lived. You can find me at CMA Music Festival every year and Nashville and my trips to Nashville throughout the year are frequent. I am lucky enough to have made friends with some songwriters over the years.”

 

If you could have a luncheon with any three people (real or fictitious/from any time period/dead or alive), which three people would you choose and why?

“Jesus, Lincoln and Shakespeare. I would want to have lunch with Jesus to thank him for blessing me with a talent and a life I dearly love. I would want to have lunch with Lincoln because he had to overcome obstacles and he was a dreamer. He could have given up, but he didn’t. He stayed true to his beliefs and changed history probably more than we will ever completely comprehend. Lastly, I would want to have lunch with Shakespeare because he was an amazing writer. His stories were full of flawed, through-provoking characters. I’m sure he forgot more about writing than I will ever know and I’d love the opportunity to pick his brain.”

If given complete freedom to start afresh, what profession would you choose and why?

“If I were allowed to start afresh, I would still be a teacher. I love my job and I feel rewarded almost every day. I love working with students and helping them gain the knowledge that will help them in the future. It allows me to talk about some of my favorite books and I hope I can pass on my love for reading and writing to my students.”

Are you a morning person or a night person?

“I’d say I am both. I get up early as a teacher. I am thankful to Starbucks for helping me wake up every morning. Some people are surprised at the selection of Starbucks coffee available in my kitchen. I’m known sometimes to stay up late as well. That’s nothing out of the ordinary for a writer, though.”

Which is the one television character that you simply adore?

“Jack Bauer from 24.   I’m sad the show isn’t on anymore. He was such a complicated character and so interesting. He was a hero, but he had his share of flaws. That’s the kind of character I like, because it’s real. I’m flawed too.”

 photo 17253275_zps6819fd64.jpg

Facebook * Amazon  * Goodreads