Meet My Guest ~ Author ~ Charlton Daines

I’d like to introduce Author Charlton Daines

Author Bio:
Charlton Daines is an academic and an afficionado of fine Literature. As such, he has sought to add to the collective of world Literature with the occasional selection that might appeal to those with a love of Classics and Historical Fiction.

The occasional spot of Humour or flights of fancy are likely to slip into this all too serious catalogue of self-indulgent scribblings.

Charlton Daines was born in London, but currently lives in the middle of England with his family, which includes an odd selection of common and pedigree cats.

 photo 6937240_zps3c7ca6aa.jpg

Author Links:

Goodreads * Facebook * Twitter * Website

Now for the Interview:

If I gave you an elephant where would you hide it?
In a tree of course.

What is your favorite color of socks to wear?
Black. The sock monster always goes for colours you know, so the only defence is to buy multiple pairs of identical black socks so that he can’t differentiate which are in pairs.

Do you suffer from sleepwalking?
Only between getting up in the morning and my first coffee.

If you were given a chance, would you enter Big Brother?
Not for any price. Reputation is a gentleman’s best asset.

What is your favorite daily wear attire?
A typical Victorian suit with waistcoat and pocket watch, or else Barbarian attire.

Women or Cars?
I’d best stick to women. Either gets messy when I’m in the driver’s seat.

What is Eskimo ice?
A commodity for the London sharpers to sell to American tourists.

Do you like dogs or cats?
Yes. But I prefer to keep company with cats. They command respect, if sometimes at the end of sharp weapons.

If I came to your home and looked inside the refrigerator, what would I find?
Crumpets and bacon, as well as milk for the tea. Everything else varies in accordance with what I plan to have for my dinner.

Tell me how many hats you have in your house?
I would say only one, unless we’re counting silly hats which might increase the number considerably.

How many pairs of shoes do you own?
Again only one, plus my boots and trainers and the occasional pair of clown shoes.

What’s your bad quality?
The same as my good quality; typical British sarcasm.

If you were a tree, what would you be?
Definitely a willow, with sweeping tendrils that just touch the surface of a languid river flowing through the English countryside.

What was the best thing before sliced bread?
That would be home baked bread, which was infinitely superior to the factory manufactured variety.

Do you speak with your dog?
If I had a dog, I would certainly speak to him. The cat and I would gossip about him incessantly.

Do you know how to drop an egg onto a concrete floor without cracking it?
Yes. You drop it whole and let the floor do the cracking.

Why isn’t the number 11 pronounced as onety one?
Because then we wouldn’t have Eleventy-first birthdays when we turn 111.

Describe yourself; what do you think about yourself and do you think people perceive you in the same way?
I’m a caricature of a Victorian scoundrel with aspirations to becoming a gentleman Barbarian. Others see my true nature only in my books.

Which is your most favorite book ever?
Oliver twist, by Charles Dickens. It was my fascination for his character, The Artful Dodger, that finally tipped me over the edge to indulgence in writing the tales that flutter about in my imagination.

If you could have a luncheon with any three people (real or fictitious/from any time period/dead or alive), which three people would you choose and why?
Jim Morrison, Leonardo Da Vinci and Jack Dawkins. Because i think that as a group, they might accomplish anything!

If given complete freedom to start afresh, what profession would you choose and why?
Being a writer, because I’m obviously mad.

Which is your most favorite place in this earth?
London. Despite its dirty and sordid history, it is still a place of magic.

Now a little bit about his book …

 photo 17371466_zpsddfd5236.jpg

Jack Dawkins
by Charlton Daines

Jack Dawkins, once known as the Artful Dodger in the streets of London, was sent to Australia on a prison ship when he was little more than a boy. Now he has returned to find that London has changed while the boy has turned into a man.

With few prospects provided by his criminal past and having developed mannerisms that allow him to move amongst a higher strata of society, Jack turns his back on the streets that would have primed him as a successor to the murderer, Bill Sykes, and quickly remodels himself as a gentleman thief.

New acquaintances and a series of chance encounters, including one with his old friend Oliver, create complications as remnants of his past come back to plague him. Jack is forced to struggle for a balance between his new life and memories that haunt him with visions of the derelict tavern where Nancy used to sing.