Blog Tour ~ Solomon’s Throne by Jennings Wright

Solomon’s Throne Blog Tour

Photobucket

Giveaway

CLICK HERE FOR GIVEAWAY

Photobucket

About Solomon’s Throne by Jennings Wright

An impenetrable safe is breached and a secret artifact is stolen. Containing information that could change the course of the world, its desperate owner sends Gideon Quinn, his head of security, and Gideon’s wife Rei, an art preservationist, to find it at any cost. What they discover is a clue to the lost throne of King Solomon, the real object of the theft. They are thrust out on an adventure that leads them halfway around the world. Following letters left by a Jesuit in 1681, they must weave through ancient sites along the Portuguese Spice Route, keeping ahead of a secret militant order that is determined to beat them to Solomon’s Throne.

Filled with fast paced action and having broad appeal, Solomon’s Throne is an ingenious treasure hunt adventure that sweeps the reader around the globe in a race against time.

Photobucket

Author Bio

Born and raised in Rockledge, Florida, Jennings spent her early years reading anything she could get her hands on, when she wasn’t spending time in and on the water. She won a prize in the 6th grade for her science fiction stories.

Jennings attended the University of the South and the University of Tampa, graduating with a B.A. in Political Science, and almost enough credits for B.A.s in both English and History. She spent time over the years doing various kinds of script doctoring, business writing, editing, and teaching writing, but mostly having and raising her family, homeschooling her children, owning and running a business with her husband, and starting a non-profit to Uganda.

Thanks to a crazy idea called NaNoWriMo Jennings got back into creative writing in 2011 and hasn’t stopped since. She’s written four novels and a screenplay in less than a year, with more ideas on the drawing board. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband, also a writer, and two children, and travels extensively.

A Word from the Author

I have been a writer my whole life, but I have only been a published writer, one who considers it her job, since July. There are a lot of reasons for this, the main one being that it wasn’t the right season of my life yet. We’ve homeschooled for 13 years, but I’ve only got one high school senior at home now. We own a business, and my workload there has ebbed over the years. So starting in the fall of 2011 it was time. I finally have time for creativity.

 

But there are things that I wish I’d known during all those years. I did try to write from time to time, and even when things were aligned perfectly to allow me the time to do it, I couldn’t seem to come up with a novel-length, cohesive story. I figured I wasn’t creative, and determined that, when the time came, I’d be a nonfiction writer. It wasn’t that my confidence in my ability to write was low; rather, I thought that my natural practicality wasn’t going to lead me down fictional paths.

The interesting thing about wishing I knew some things I know now is that I tried to learn them. I’ve read dozens of books on writing over the years. I’ve done classes with Writers Village University online. I’ve started novels, started screenplays, made notes, even broke out the index cards. Nothing much creative happened. I did a mental and emotional shrug and wrote it off.

So when I decided to try NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in November of 2011, it was really… crazy. I knew I could write at least 50,000 words, the minimum to win. I’d written a 50,000 word nonfiction book in May of that year. What I didn’t know, and certainly had no reason to believe, was that I could come up with a plot or characters. I certainly never had before! But I decided that I’d do it, so that at least I could say I tried; if it was terrible, no one ever had to see it. At least I could check “write a novel” off of my bucket list.

The way NaNoWriMo was originally structured, you weren’t supposed to start planning your novel until a week before. I didn’t know that had changed (there are people who start December 1 planning the next year’s novel!). I waited. I thought about what I wanted to write in general terms like genre, and narrowed it down to a treasure hunt, but that was all I knew until a week before the November 1 start date. And then revelation struck. The clouds parted and sunshine rained down. I had it!

What happened was this: every book on writing I’d ever read taught that you come up with your plot first. If not the plot, then an interesting main character. This was what I’d done all those years, and what had never worked. But because I decided to do a treasure hunt, and knew I had to have an historical backstory to lay the groundwork for it, I started by getting my copy of World History for Dummies out and flipping through it. I didn’t read much of the actual text; mostly I read the interesting and random facts in the gray boxes and the captions under the pictures. I wasn’t looking for people – I was looking for places. And it all clicked.

No one had ever told me that you could plan novels around an interesting location, but every novel and screenplay I’ve written since then has started that way. And when I start there and research places, then add a plot, and finally add my main characters, I get really interesting stories. Who knew? Certainly not me!

The other thing that has been revolutionary for me was also a NaNoWriMo revelation, and that is that, because I’m a project person by nature, writing an entire first draft in a month is the perfect way for me to write it. Now, when I say project person, what I mean is that I don’t just clean out the pantry. I empty it, demolish it, rebuild shelves, get fancy Rubbermaid containers, label everything, and get it back together in a day. I don’t tidy my office, I paint, rearrange, strip the shelves, go to Staples for cool organizing things, and buy new curtains. I do not do well at daily tasks. (I do two things every day almost without fail: brush my teeth and journal. That’s it!)

So, while doing NaNo in November 2011, I realized that I could hold the whole plot in my head. I could pound out 3000-6000 words a day in just two or three hours. And it was pretty good! (I was totally shocked when I went back and read Solomon’s Throne, since I do absolutely zero editing while I’m writing and never, ever go back and read anything other than the last paragraph.)

I honestly believe that, if I had to write 1000 words a day and no more, I’d never finish the book. My mind wanders, other things come up, I lose my research and my train of thought… If someone said I had to take a year to write a book, I’d start on the first day of the last month. It’s just how my brain works.

Which sums up what I learned:  just because some, or even most, people structure their writing life a certain way doesn’t mean that’s the right way for me. In fact, the “right” way was absolutely the wrong way, and had I not discovered both of these things, I’d still just be journaling every morning and reading a lot of other people’s books, planning my next how-to.

Author Links

Kindle Edition: http://www.amazon.com/Solomons-Throne-ebook/dp/B008NBRYV6/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1351777545&sr=8-3
Print Edition: http://www.amazon.com/Solomons-Throne-Jennings-Wright/dp/0985784016/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1351777545&sr=8-3
Print Edition – CreateSpace: https://www.createspace.com/3937851

My website is http://www.jenningswright.com
My writing blog is http://jenningswright.wordpress.com
My Twitter is @JenningsWright
My FB author page is http://www.Facebook.com/JSWwrites
My Independent Author Network page is http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/jennings-wright.html

Presented by Jitterbug PR

Tour Dates: Jan. 1st – 31st 2013