Millicent Marie is NOT My Name by Karen Pokras Toz

Please see my review here!

Summary:

Twelve-year-old Millicent Marie does not like her name. After all, she was named for a woman who died more than fifty years ago and was not the most loveable member of the Harris family. Her friends call her Millie, but when she writes in her diary she refers to herself as Amanda – the name she always wished she had.

When Millie’s younger brother finds her diary on her computer, he decides to publish it as a blog for the entire world to see, including the boy Millie has a crush on. In the midst of all the mayhem, Millie/Amanda discovers she is suddenly Springside Elementary’s most sought after sixth-grade mystery gossip and advice columnist.

But not all is fun and games, as Millie quickly learns, once she realizes feelings are at stake. Nobody, least of all Millie, expects things to turn out as they do in this tale of friendship and respect.

Today we have Millicent Marie with us and she talks about being popular.

Hi. My name is Millicent Marie, and I’m in sixth grade. Today I want to talk about being popular. If your school is anything like mine, the kids are split up into three major groups. You’ve got those kids who are popular, the kids who are not popular, and a few stragglers in the middle who are sort of popular, but not quite cool enough to be considered part of the “in crowd.”

You might think being the popular kid is pretty cool, right? Someone always wants to eat lunch with you or hang out with you on the bus or at recess. Plus, the cute boys are always trying to get your attention. Yeah, I like boys, but don’t tell my mom because she’ll probably tell me I’m too young. Anyway, being popular sounds great, right? That’s what I thought too.

See, I’d never been one of the popular kids before I was … Oh – I’ll get to that in a minute. The point is, I always had my best friend Natalie around, and don’t get me wrong – she’s awesome! It’s just that I had always wondered what it would be like. You know – to be popular.

Well, I found out, sort of. It turns out, my pain of a brother decided it would be funny to publish my private diary on the Internet as a blog! Can you believe that? Everyone in the sixth grade saw it! Much to my surprise, they liked it and started emailing me for advice and stuff, even the popular kids. Except they didn’t actually know it was me, because I signed everything “Amanda” (smart move on my part). Anyway, seems I instantly became popular without anyone knowing I was popular. Does that make sense?

The thing is, I kind of let it all go to my head and was starting to be not so nice to some people just so I could seem even cooler. Well guess what? Not cool at all.  I definitely learned my lesson! I bet you’re wondering what happened right? Well it’s sort of a long story, so I had my creator, Karen Pokras Toz, put it all in my book Millicent Marie Is Not My Name.  I hope you’ll read it – it has lots of important lessons about bullying and friendship that all kids need to learn. Thanks for having me on your blog today!

Purchase the book here … 
Amazon (print and ebook) http://amzn.to/UyX0oA
Barnes & Noble (print and ebook) http://bit.ly/QlEejj

Meet the Author!

Bio:
Karen Pokras Toz is a writer, wife and mom. Karen grew up in Connecticut and currently lives outside of Philadelphia with her husband and three children. In June 2011, Karen published her first middle grade children’s novel for 7-12 year olds called Nate Rocks the World, which won First Place for Children’s Chapter Books and the Grand Prize Overall in the 2012 Purple Dragonfly Book Awards, as well as placing first for a Global E-Book Award for Pre-Teen Literature. In 2012, Karen published the second in the Nate Rocks series, Nate Rocks the Boat, followed by middle grade novel, Millicent Marie Is Not My Name. Karen is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI).

Author’s Contacts

Goodreads

Blog

Blogspot

Twitter

Facebook

Time for the Swag!

The Big Prize!

 

Enter Here to win the Big Prize!

Millicent Marie Tour