The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani

The Shoemaker's WifeThe Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My Blog

On chapter 10 so far, and the images in my mind won’t shut up. I feel like I am these people as I read about them. I can see the imagery exactly as it’s described. Trigiani is excellent with her descriptives and giving us eyes into that world.

My ancestors are also from Italy, and, unfortunately, I don’t have as much information as Trigiani does, but it’s nice to see those times.

I have cried and laughed as Ciro is hilarious and very chivalrous. The talks of death and longing for the one they lost makes it so sad. He learned well from his mother and his mother nun’s. I wish I could know more about where his mother is, but I still have a long ways to go in the book.

I love this book so far. Will update later.

I have to say that as I finished the last words of this book I felt sad that it was over, and I was left with such a heartache I could never fully explain. Those characters became a part of me. Adriana did so well in every aspect of writing this novel that I hope one day I could become half the writer she is.

I openly sobbed so many times, and that has never happened to me while reading a book before. I have teared up and cried a bit, but during this book I literally sobbed as if it was my Ciro that died. So much loss in the story, but it was held together with so much love. The importance of family is the theme, and I learned so much from it. I understood Enza’s description that she felt her time with Ciro was not enough. It felt like her whole life was spent waiting for him only to have him then to lose him so quickly.

These people, characters, will stay with me for a long time. This truly was more than New York Best Seller quality.

View all my reviews